High temp pitch=slow ferment?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SkewedBrewing

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Last night I pitched my yeast before I should have, the temperature was much higher than usual. I've never done this before, I'm usually really patient, but I was rushed by SWMBO.
I cooled my wart by an open window for about a half hour and then I poured it in with 2 almost frozen gallons of bottled drinking water. There wasn't really any steam coming from the wort and so I moved it to a colder place in my apartment and then I pitched. I haven't seen any action and its been about 15 hours. In fact, I think it was still hot and it created a vaccuum, sucking some of the water from the airlock into the fermenter. I know that yeast dies at 140 F and I think my wort was below that so I'm thinking it might be ok.
My question is this, is the reason there is no action the fact that the wort was super hot and the yeast couldn't reproduce as easily in it? Or, is my yeast dead and I have to repitch in a couple days?
Also, worst case scenario, do you think that my wort is contaminated from all of the moving around I did?

i'm assuming you didn't make a starter, since you didn't mention a starter... in that case, just relax and give it some time... without knowing how hot your wort actually was, it'll be hard for anyone to speculate about the viability of your yeast in it... might not be a bad thing to get a starter going now, though, so if you're not seeing signs of fermentation by tomorrow night, you can pitch some live yeast...

yup.. relax.

Even if you make a nice, big starter and cool the wort to the perfect pitching temp, you might have to wait for a day or two for fermentation to start.