Maltodextrin 101

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jknapp

Reaction score
I'm wondering if any one with experience with using Maltodextrin can fill me in on:

1. How you use it: Add to boil? Secondary? At Bottling?
2. What are general ratios/amounts for 5 gallon batches?

I've got a Stout in 2ndary that is a bit dry. I'd like to have the option at the time of bottling to add some sweetness back to the beer, but being a noob, I haven't had experience with this yet.

Since Maltodextrin is slightly fermentable, would that be a liability to add it at bottling (ie bottle bombs)?

Any experience you have with using Maltodextrin - please share..

I have not used maltodextrin in a long time but generally up to 8 oz for a five gallon batch. I think it is added toward the end of the boil.

However, im not sure if maltodextrin is what you are looking for. It helps to add body and mouthfeel to a beer. If its too dry maybe consider adding lactose. Its how milk stouts are made and will add a bit of sweetness to the brew

+1

Maltodextrin can add body without changing the flavor of the beer - it isn't very sweet.
Lactose, however, is an unfermentable milk sugar.

I use lactose for back-sweetening.

+1

Maltodextrin can add body without changing the flavor of the beer - it isn't very sweet.

That is great info. Maltodextrin = body, NOT so much sweetness.

So then, Lactose users, my same questions apply to the use of lactose. How much is typical for 5 gallons? boil in water? when to add? etc.

You can add the lactose to the bottling bucket when you are getting ready to bottle your stout.