'sea sponge' in secondary

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bugmeister

Reaction score
Hi folks,

new member here and thank you for your advice. i have found this forum to be very useful. i am relatively new to cider making, and have a few batches in secondaries now. one of them is a 3 gal batch of local unpasteurizeded good quality cider that had an initial sg of 1.05. using salfale 50 with a nutrient for yeast. bumped it with a lb of average store bought honey and a lb of brown sugar to an sg of 1.065. also added 2 sticks of cinnamon soaked in vodka (kill the bugs), in the primary. I have removed the Cinnamon when racked to secondary and now, 3 weeks later the cider is crystal clear amber brown with 2 'sea sponge' looking masses in the carboy. it is bubbling like i have never seen anything before. the other 3 batches now- 5 gallons with some ginger, 1 gallon all natural and 3 gallons sparkling are all doing great, but the only one with Cinnamon added has these sea sponges and is already clear and cooking away.

can anyone tell me why the solids organize themselves into these gassy seas sponges? looks great and I cant wait to taste. thanks in advance.

Ok, cool sounding I have to say. Having used ground cinnamon in my last batch, I think its the cinnamon. I got some unusual clumps, but nothing quite like that! :)

folks-thanks for your relies to the post. here is an image of the 'sponge'. anybody know whats the root cause of this? cider looks great and i suspect the top sponge will drop when done bubbling but so much bubbles are coming off the bottom one as well.

SEA SPONGE.jpg