i need corny keg info...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

inhalingtrees

Reaction score
I just found a place that has used corny kegs for sale anything against them or any problems? Also they are pin lock, I am a beginner with kegs so I'm not sure what the different styles are for exactly like ball or pin lock....and with these kegs can you carbonate with both priming with sugar or co2 tank?

Very few homebrewers buy new corny kegs. There's no problem with used ones, you might just need to replace the o-rings.

Pin locks are a little wider than ball locks, which may be an issue with space in a kegerator ( that little amount could be the difference between fitting 3 or 4 kegs in a kegerator ).

Used cornies are fine. As mentioned above, you just need to break them apart and replace the o-rings ( buy o-rings from McMaster-Carr and save a ton of money - search this forum for part #'s ). The big issue would be dents around the opening of the keg, which may allow co2 to escape if they can't seal properly.

Yes, you can carbonate wwith co2 as well as priming sugar in a keg. I naturally carbed a mild a couple years back and it was great.

I saw a brand new keg on sale for $78 the other day ( I think it was posted on Homebrew Finds ). I wonder if this is an indication that prices for new ones are coming down. It's getting to the point where the used ones are in short supply, and their prices are getting higher and higher.