Samuel Smith Oatmeal stout clone

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

meck1842

Reaction score
Recipe Type
Extract
Yeast
US-05
Yeast Starter
none
Batch Size (Gallons)
Original Gravity
Final Gravity
Boiling Time (Minutes)
Primary Fermentation (# of Days & Temp)
Secondary Fermentation (# of Days & Temp)
Tasting Notes
Creamy mouth feel with evident chocolate and roast flavor.
This is my first time posting a recipe on here and am writing this as I drink the first glass poured from the keg. This is a recipe from my LHBS (The Brew Hut... If you're in the Denver area, by far the best place to go) and is suppose to be a Samuel Smith's Oatmeal Stout clone. I have never had the original so I can't attest to that, but it is absolutely delicious.

6 lbs light LME
12 oz. Flaked Oats
8 oz English Medium Crystal
4 oz English Roast
8 oz English chocolate

1.5 oz East Kent goldings (60 minutes)

I roasted the oats at 375 for 30 minutes. However, I did this on accident, and the recipe calls for them to be roasted at 325 for 75 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes (I misread but it still turned out with a great mouthfeel from the oats).

I fermented in a closet that is anywhere from 65-68 degrees.

I have brewed this twice now. The first time, my 2nd batch ever, turned out fairly watered down and lacking flavor and body. This time around, I did a full boil, about 6.3 gallons of water to end up with 5.5(ish) to account for trub loss, and it turned out full bodied and much better (IME, full boils make a HUGE difference).

To those who say you can't steep oats and you have to mash them to get full effects, you're wrong!:mug:

If you have to use dry yeast, don't use US-05. Great yeast for sure, but lacking the English character (in every sense) you want. I would use S-04.