About the cloudy beer...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kodatech

Reaction score
I know I am new to homebrewing, and to this forum, and maybe the veterans will change my mind....So try not to flame me too bad....

Is there anyone that actually PREFERS their beer a bit cloudy? I know...I'm strange.

There is something nice about a crystal clear glass of beer bubbling nicely, but isn't there something nice about a slightly imperfect cloudyness too?

...As long as the taste is great I mean!

Just interested in others opinions.

Chill haze (which I think is what you are talking about) is tasteless and will not affect how your beer is sensed on your palate. The only time I would be worried about chill haze or the general cloudiness of a beer is if you are entering a competition. Depending on the style you enter your beer, you would want either a clear beer or a cloudy one.

I personally spend the extra 10 seconds to pour some poly-clar into my beer if I am entering a comp for something like a pale ale. If I am entering a wheat beer, I actually spend the extra 10 seconds to throw some flour at the end of the boil to make sure I get some haziness.

Some people say that they can get crystal clear beer without any finnings, that's totally cool but for my process I dont get "crystal clear" beer without adding gelatin or poly clar...even if I cold crash.

I guess, in a round about way, Im saying its personal preference. But if you get your clarity right, you can gain 1-2 extra points in a comp.
-Jefe-

Thats cool. I have never entered a competition, I just like to make good tasting beer for less money than average store bought beer.