Suggestions for winter boots

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SpanishCastleAle

Reaction score
I've never lived north of Atlanta, GA so I have very little experience with really cold weather. But I now visit family in Colorado every year and we go snow skiing for a few days during that visit. I've got all the snow skiing apparel for when I'm ON the slopes but I don't have anything for just general walking around in snow, basically all the time NOT on the slopes.

I thought I was all set on the North Face Chilkats...until I read the reviews. Leaky, uncomfortable, cold...and leaky. Heck my sneakers can do the cold and leaky thing and still be comfortable.

I don't want to skimp on foul-weather apparel but I want quality for my money. Any suggestions on brands, models, and even the 'type' of boot (or shoe) would be helpful and appreciated. I'm in the dark here.:eek:

Is any of this stuff still US-made? A friend who used to work on the Alaskan pipeline said they all wore Sorels (but I think they share the same parent company as North Face). My North Face ski jacket seems fine.

Sorels all the way. I wear them ice fishing and never get cold feet. They're good for anything from -10 and windy all the way up to 45 and walking in three inches of 33 degree slush. If you're planning on walking somewhere, then going inside you'll love the removable liners for when they get sweaty and you have to wear them again the next day. Pull the liners out, and they dry overnight!

They go for about a hundred bucks, but I've had mine for 4 years and worn them for a few hundred days all together I'd guess. No signs of giving up on me yet!