Kolsch

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

boydak

Reaction score
Found a recipe on Cats Meow and am attempting to makes some slight changes.

Any advise?

5lbs DRME (Briess)
1lb rice syrup solid
1oz Liberty hops (boiling)
1/3oz Saaz (flavor)
2/3oz Saaz (finish
Danstar Munich German Wheat dry yeast

og 1.041
fg 1.010

I changed from LME to DME and using a different yeast.

Really you need to use a liquid yeast to produce an authentic Kolsch. If you have no option I think the US-05 would work well, I have no experience with the Danstar yeast.

The hops (flavor and aroma) are a bit excessive in terms of style, but I like a bit of hops in a Kolsch.

The extra-light Briess is a good choice, excellent for this style of beer. You could go all malt and lose the rice solids, but that is up to you.

I have never used liquid yeast before. It calls for Wyeast 1007. I will add it to my order and give it a shot.

Also never used rice. Maybe add another pount of DME?

I have never tried that dry yeast you posted but have used the WY1007 and it isn't very flocculent. You'll probably need to lager it for it to drop out unless you are into finning your brews.

I would drop the rice and go with more Dme to bump up my OG.

A Kolsch has no rice and does not use a wheat yeast! Liberty hops is also out of style.
BTW, that Cats Meow site has some really horrible recipes. Gotta be careful...

A Kolsch has no rice and does not use a wheat yeast! Liberty hops is also out of style.
BTW, that Cats Meow site has some really horrible recipes. Gotta be careful...

Yeah, I gotta agree with the style issues. It looks like just about everything in that recipe is not to style for a kolsch. You're probably better off calling it a light hybrid ale instead.