Pilots who are avid brewers

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

The Pol

Reaction score
HEY, how many of you (I have talked to quite a few) are pilots and brewers? In my weekly travels in this small yet convoluted industry I have flown with and met an abnormally high ratio of pilots who are also brewers! Who do you fly for, what started you in your brewing obesession, how do you balance monitoring your brews when you are away 4-5 days consecutively per week? Doesn't it suck to brew a batch and come home AFTER it has fermented? LOL
There just seems to be a high ratio of pilots who are also homebrew freaks! Nothing wrong with that!

The Pol

I used to be a pilot . . . started flying when I was 12, soloed at 16, got my PPL at 18 then quit flying at 19 (was going to college to be a airline pilot) when I joined the navy, havent gone back to it since :\

Heh, you probably got out of it at a good time! I never planned to be an airline pilot, yet here I am... funny how things work out! Ever miss flying?

Private pilot here. Got it when i was 17, now 21. I have around 160 hours, college makes it hard to fly too much prices are getting up their. When i finish college im gonna start building an RV.

Yeah, I remember that when I started it was about $48 an hour, wet, for a 172... I can imagine that fuel and insurance have balooned that drastically!

I fly an RJ, if that counts as flying. Yeah, it's kinda funny. I know a bunch of guys that are into homebrewing. Some of them are winemakers too. As far as our schedules are concerned, I think being out on a trip eases the impatience of waiting to move a batch from one step in the brewing process to the next. Just my $.02.

The Pol said: