Help understanding BeerSmith 2

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

timcadieux

Reaction score
So i just bougght and installed BeerSmith 2. The first thing I did was download and add this recipe SMaSH Saison. This is becuase i'm still new to do and I wanted to do a BIAB.

I have a 15L brew pot and when I try to add this to the Equipment Area, it automatically calculates my Boil Volume at 21.58L ?

Also, the Recipe looks like this.

Mash In
Add 4.35 l of water at 63.8 C 66.7 C 60 min

Sparge Step:
Batch sparge with 4 steps (5.14l, 5.39l, 5.39l, 5.39l) of 168.0 C water

Does this mean I mix the 9LBS of grain with 4.35L of water and Steep for 60min. Then I will sparge the Grains 4x with just over 5L each time?

That's more water volume than I can handle, shouldn't the app know this if it knows my Equipment is a 15L brew pot?

168.0 C sparge water sure looks that ought to be Fahrenheit.

For BIAB in a 15g pot you shouldn't be sparging separately. There are some checkboxes and options that you must have selected wrong. For your equipment, the best match IMO is the one that says "Pot (13 gal/50 L) - BIAB". You actually have a bit more space in the pot, but for most recipes, this preconfigured setting will work well for your setup. Also when you set up the mash, there is a specific configuration that you need to choose which for a Saison would be "BIAB, Light Body". This will get you somewhat in the ballpark, but still not correct in my experience. What I mean is, you will have all the water in to start with, but as I will explain below, the recipe steps it shows do not really have the right numbers or descriptions of the process.