Made a mess airating- please offer advice

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BlackDogBrewing

Reaction score
While I have alomst 20 batches of beer under my belt, I have no experience making mead. I made my first batch 2 days ago, 12 lbs hone, about 3.5 gallons water, 5tsp yeast nutrient and 2 Wyeast sweet mead yeast smackpacks. I was looking over gotmead.com and they suggested airating the mead the first few days. I gently shook it, then gently tried to use my wine degasser/stirrer for my cordlesss drill. I created a giant geyser of mead and lost almost a gallon!!!!!
Should I just leave it go for a while now? Try to airate again? I really feel a bit lost as to what to do and could kick myself for losing about a gallon. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Also, I received some acid blend from NB along with the mead kit. I use this at bottling, right? How much do I add to try? Thanks.

Well the most current information I got from peopel who attended the NHC was to degas, not aerate, after fermentation starts.

why? becasue the CO2 buildup inhibits yeast from doing their thing, AND it also makes carbonic acid which lowers the pH which can inhibit the yeast from doing their thing.

Now, you were technically degassing with that wine degasser, and the CO2 volcano is normal. You have to start REAL gentle like until that big burst of CO2 is out of solution, just like when degassing wine but even moreso because the mead is still 'alive' while wine isn't degassed until its done fermenting.

So, i'd leave it be for now honestly.

as for acid blend, I rarely use the stuff. you can add it , IF it needs it, before you bottle. its for balancing the sweetness, so dry meads need no acid blend...