RIMS for Dummies

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sawdustguy

Reaction score
Before I get flamed, I am not insinuating anyone reading this forum or post is a dummy. I have received a few PM's lately about a post I made in the not too distant past about RIMS heater assemblies and the way I approached it. I am not an expert but my assembly works. If anyone intends to build one of these contraptions maybe this thread will act as a resource and help you.

RIMS Circuit Diagram.jpg

***Prices as of 3/2009
RIMS Heater Parts List.jpg

Thermocouple and Element.jpg

How degrading... I feel insulted.

No, really, nice work

I like the diagram and the associated parts list. Nice work, keep it simple, I like that. I found that most of my inquiries are about how PIDs and SSRs work together and how to wire them up.

This is nice.

Nice post, and I agree.. Rims for Dummies.. Herms is definitely the way to go. :rockin:

Hehe... nice post and write up! If you could post the parts list as text or HTML, that would be helpful. Just so lazy people like me can copy/paste the URLs.

Here are some photos of the finished product. I made mine out of 2" 304 Stainless Steel Pipe but it can easily be made out of copper to decrease the cost. The clamps for mounting are Corvette Stainless Steel Exhaust clamps purchased on EBay. Please note that the 1/2" NPTF to 2" NPTM bushings were out of stock when I built my RIMS Heater assembly so I used two bushings. I checked today and the 1/2" NPTF to 2" NPTM bushings are back in stock.

RIMS1.jpg

RIMS2.jpg

RIMS3.jpg

RIMS4.jpg