Thoughts on American brown ale recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

irishplague

Reaction score
Never made a brown ale before, and I'm trying to build a recipe on my own for one. Any thoughts, suggestions on this would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

10 lb 2 row
1.5 brown
.5 roasted barley
.5 smoked malt
.25 crystal 60
.25 wheat

1 oz cascade 60 min
1 oz willamette 30 min
1 oz willamette flameout

mash @ 150 60 min
sparge 168

wyeast 1056

Added smoked malt cause i've never used it before good idea? bad idea?

Cant comment on the smoke, but a smoked brown ale if done well would be a really good BBQ pairing beer.

I think that the 0.5 lb roast barley is a little too high for the style. You dont want a super roasty brown ale (I dont think 4% will be super roasty..), b/c then it will just seem like a brown stout. Something like 2% will give you a bit of roast/coffee/toffee flavors though.

I would also up the crystal a bit as you'll need a touch more sweetness and if you decrease/take out the RB you'll nedd some more color.

Hopefully some smarter people will chime in too

Never made a brown ale before, and I'm trying to build a recipe on my own for one. Any thoughts, suggestions on this would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

10 lb 2 row
1.5 brown
.5 roasted barley
.5 smoked malt
.25 crystal 60
.25 wheat

1 oz cascade 60 min
1 oz willamette 30 min
1 oz willamette flameout

mash @ 150 60 min
sparge 168

wyeast 1056

Added smoked malt cause i've never used it before good idea? bad idea?

Okay, thanks guys, I think i'll take the RB down to .25 along with the smoked barley also to .25. would 1 lb of the crystal be too much for this recipe?