Saison Dupont clone

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rockout

Reaction score
Hi everyone -

Last Xmas I got a book called Clone Brews and have finally gotten around to attempting one of the recipes. Bought the ingredients for the Saison Dupont recipe yesterday and will be brewing this coming week. It's my first attempt at any clone as well as my first Belgian or wheat variant.

I'm just wondering if anyone has any experience with this recipe or similar recipes and can give me any tips, stuff I should pay careful attention to, basically anything that's not in the instructions. I've been brewing for 1.5 years and have gotten pretty decent for a beginner extract brewer.

Here's the ingredients if anyone is wondering:

1/2 lb German Vienna malt
5.75 lb M&F extra-light DME
1 lb M&F wheat DME
1 lb Belgian clear candy sugar
1.4 oz Stryrian Goldings @5% AA (7 HBU) bittering hops
3/4 oz East Kent Goldings flavor hops
1/2 oz Curacao bitter orange peel
1 tsp Irish moss

Wyeast 1214 Belgian abby ale

1 1/4 cup M&F extra-light DME for secondary.​
I'm also wondering about this DME for secondary - I've never seen this before in any recipe I've used. Anyone care to shed some light on that?

Thanks.

I have that book too and I recommend not following it too literally. Are you sure the DME is for secondary and not for carbonating? Brewing Saisons with all extract can be tricky. The style depends high attenuation and its hard to dry out when using extract...

I confess I don't have the book on me, and the recipe was emailed to me by my wife (I'm on the road and ordered ingredients online) - so maybe she mis-transcribed something there. Certainly makes sense to me that it would be for carbonating.