Learning to create recipes

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BlendieOfIndie

Reaction score
Hey everyone,
I'm pretty new to brewing - 5th batch in the fermenter right now. I'm looking to learn how changing techniques and ingredients affects the product. Dave Miller recommends starting with a SMaSH recipe (one type of malt & one type of hop), and repeating it several time until you're making consistent batches. Then he says to move on to modifying ingredients one at a time. This is the process I intend to follow, but it looks like it'll take a while to really learn something, so I'm also looking for a fast track to get started quicker. Here's a few questions:

- Is there a large difference in the flavor of base malts?

- Would steeping a small amount of different specialty malts help me learn what each contributes to the final beer? If so, steep what poundage in what volume of H2O?

- Hops: I can smell a slight difference between hop varieties, but the difference is hard to distinguish. Would steeping hops help me better understand the distinction between hops?

- What are the top 5 hop varieties that I should know about?

Any other tips/suggestions/must knows?

Thx

-I think so. I mean the difference between an American two row and a German two row are likely negligible, but I can certainly taste a difference between MO and Pilsner malt for example.

-As for steeping, it is going to differ with each grain. a lb of black patent is going to be more potent than a lb of crystal 20. So it is kind of hard to give you a certain poundage and run with it.