Right hop variety?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lyacovett

Reaction score
Hey guys,
I am pretty new to this and have a few questions about a recipe. I just bought my ingredients, but now am unsure.

3 lbs Amber DME
3 lbs Light DME
1 lb Crystal 40L

hops:
2 oz Tettnang (5.1%)
1 oz Hallertau (3.9%)

Yeast:
White Labs East Coast Ale Yeast (WLP008)

I was heading for a highly hopped Pale Ale / IPA type .

My questions are:
- Does this list sound good? Will these hops work out for a higher hopped ale, or should I go with a different variety?
- What should the hoppin schedule be?

I really appreciate any help.

Thanks.

Seriously wrong hops for an IPA. These are noble hops commonly used in lagers.

Try the 3Cs: Columbus, Chinook and Cascade.

Let me ammend this ... I know this isn't an IPA, I was heading for something along the lines of a Boston Alse ... but I really can't think of what this would be ... maybe a higher hopped amber? I am really just curious if this would even be worth it, or should I try something else.

I have to second david's opinion. Those are the wrong type of hops for what you are trying to do. The tettnang and hallertau are going to go far better with something darker as a bittering hop (think stout, porter) or a traditional lager.

In addition to the three that david mentioned, you may also look at amarillo. I brewed an amber not too long ago that I hopped up to about 34 IBUs using a combination of Cascade and Amarillo. It turned out quite well. I used an ounce of each Cascade (8.6) and Amarillo (7.8) and split them up into .125 (1/8) of an ounce portions. I did a 1/8 ounce addition of each at 60, 45, 30, 25, 20, 15, 10 and 5 minutes. The beer has a nice floral/citrusy nose and enough bitterness to offset the malt of the amber.