Austin Home Brew Extract kits???

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

acesb422

Reaction score
I am wanting to get my second batch going asap as everyone seems to suggest. My only question is I have been looking at the extract kits from AHS and am worried that I will not know how to do it all?? My last kit had 3.3lbs liquid malt extract, 2 lbs dried malt extract and a little thing of hops and then ofcourse yeast, but these kits are talking about grains in a muslin bag?? What would i be getting myself into with these kits. I don't do secondary fermenting because I am just beginning. Any help would be great!!

Oh, you can do the AHS kits, I promise! All the directions are provided and it's super simple and easy to do. If you can make hot chocolate from a mix, you can do an extract recipe from them. And, I've done a few of them in the past when I was brewing extracts- they are really good! The ingredients are fresh and make a great beer. You can try a "clone" kit and I think you'll be pleased.

My first brews have been AHS kits and I have no idea what I was doing and it has been fine. The instructions are clear and easy to follow.

You can do it. :)

I'll sing the praises of AHB extract kits. I have done several of them and they all have been great. Follow the directions and you'll be set

I am assuming you liked the experience of your first brew that you want to continue. If that is true, then, why not take one step further into the hobby?

Steeping grain is nothing more than you would do when making tea. It is that simple.

go for it.

You'll definitely want to start steeping grains on your extract brews. Makes a world of difference. Its as easy as this: