Does cider bottle ferment?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mdsharpe85

Reaction score
Hey, I'm new to this whole process and last week we made a batch of cider from this recipe ( http://beerrecipes.org/showrecipe.php?recipeid=1266 ). Beerrecipes.org is a pretty great site but can sometimes be a little vague. Especially for newbies like myself. I was wondering if any more seasoned veterans would be able to tell me if I should be expecting to wait a period of time for these to age in bottles or if they will be ready to drink within days of bottling.

In addition I was curious as to whether or not it would be possible to bottle this in screw top 64oz growlers. I read somewhere that the pressure is too great for fermenting in growlers... so really... I guess an answer to the first question would answer the second.

Thanks a lot in advance. This site is great.

Well I am guessing that you want carbonated cider? So yes you will have to wait 2-3 weeks for it to bottle carbonate. Other than that you can drink it when you want but I have always waited at least a month from bottling.

I would wait three months from the end of fermentation before thinking of bottling.

Thanks for the replies but I'm still a bit unsure because they were mixed. I think we are bottling on Thursday. That would mean it sat 2 weeks in the carboy. We kinda need to get it out of there. So is the general consensus that it is not ready to drink and still needs to ferment? Will bottle aging it be enough? If so how long?

If you let it ferment in the bottle, it will carbonate itself, though it will need to be pasteurized if you put it in there before the primary is done.

Force carbonation using a keg is an option if you have the equipment.