Mead Wont Frement

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

durfro

Reaction score
Before we start, a big thank you to anyone that reads the following novel. I have been making mead for a couple of years now and I am just about at my wits end with this mead.
I am having trouble getting this mead to ferment. It seems to have gotten stuck and even after re-pitching twice and racking I can’t seem to get it restarted.

Mead Recipe (12/6/12):

1. 18 lbs Wildflower Honey (I have used this honey a number of times with good results)
2. 3 packs Lavin 71B-1122 (15g, not rehydrated)
3. 2 teaspoons LD Carlson Yeast Energizer
4. 4 Tablespoons LD Carlson Yeast Nutrient
5. 1.5 teaspoons LD Carlson Pectic Enzyme (Black Currant wine base going in later)
6. Water up to 4 gallons (Kroger Spring water, used many times before)

OG: 1.127

I use the no heat method. I warm the honey in the sink using hot tap water to make it easier to get out of the jars, stir, and pitch. I didn’t take a pH reading at the time of the first pitch.

The mead was placed in my chilly basement (~70 degrees F) with a blow off tube. I noted the blow off tube because this fact makes it hard to track how fast the fermentation is working. While I was away for Christmas it likely got below 60 F (~57 degrees F) in my basement and the fermentation seemed to stop. Since this is below the recommended temperature range for 71B I moved the mead up stairs, a put a heating belt on it, and a bubbler (1/2/13). The temp of the mead was increased to the mid-70s, but it did not restart. At this point the gravity was still 1.088.

I decided to re-pitch with a yeast starter (1/10/13):

1. 0.75 lbs Wildflower Honey (same as before)
2. 3 packs Lavin 71B-1122 (15g, rehydrated)
3. 2 teaspoons LD Carlson Yeast Energizer