My APA tastes like a Belgian Pale Ale

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mychalg9

Reaction score
I was drinking a Green Flash Rayon Vert yesterday and realized that the "off" flavors I've been getting in my pale ale tasted almost exactly like this belgian pale ale style. Any ideas what would cause my APA recipe to taste like that? If I recall, the recipe was a SMASH with 2 row and cascade hops, not sure if I used Notty yeast or US-05 for it but if I had to guess it was probably Notty. Any ideas?

I'm no expert, but I was asking the same thing a few weeks ago. I think my fermentation happened too hot/too fast.

Slowed my next batch down with the swamp cooler technique. Not finished yet, but I measured and sampled before dry hop and things seem better.

Bet you used us05. I've had this happen to me twice with us05 at low temps - almost a Belgian phenolic yeast character that I could not place. I'm conducting "experiments" with us05 and hoping to get better results at higher temps with it, especially because when us05 is on its great. I'm just having issues getting it to be consistent in my brew house.

Bet you used us05. I've had this happen to me twice with us05 at low temps - almost a Belgian phenolic yeast character that I could not place. I'm conducting "experiments" with us05 and hoping to get better results at higher temps with it, especially because when us05 is on its great. I'm just having issues getting it to be consistent in my brew house.

Interesting. I am using US05 in an IPA right now and fermenting it in the low 60's. I guess I should try to raise it up a bit

I had the same problem happen to me... turns out I didn't clean the keg well enough between my Saison and my APA. Lesson learned. :drunk: