Glass vs Plastic

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GeorgiaTiger

Reaction score
Im a complete newb and am planning on doing my first batch of red wine using Welch's grape concentrate. I have been doing a lot of research and am wondering if it really makes a difference between glass and plastic carboys? I want to do this right so figured I would ask here!

Thanks guys!

If you really want to do it right, buy a cheap wine kit. For the little extra money it costs, you'll get way better results. But on the plastic vs glass issue, you can ferment in either, but it needs to age in glass.

If you really want to do it right, buy a cheap wine kit. For the little extra money it costs, you'll get way better results. But on the plastic vs glass issue, you can ferment in either, but it needs to age in glass.

What kind of cheap wine kit? Can you make a suggestion? I like cabs so would want something like a cab.

Wine kits come in two thoughts....an equipment supply kit vs the actual wine itself. You can also get a combo of equipment with a basic wine kit for a goid price. If looking for a wine product, not the equipment, it all depends on where you live. US has a wide selection while Canada has some different and same product lines, vice versa.

If looking for a cabernet, go for midline, something in the $100 range. This will yield five or six gallons, 25 vs 30 bottles. As a beginner, I would not recommend dealing with skins, it can overwhelm some. But, be prepared for the aging of a year minimum. When you run i.to products marketed as four week, six week, etc...that is not a timeframe of readiness for consumption. The exception being the mist/twist style kits. Consider that a low end product needs just as much aging as a high end product.