Victory Malt in a Pale Ale

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm going to add some Victory malt to my standard pale ale as a grain school batch. I've never used Victory before. Is a pound too much here? I want to really taste it, but I don't want to ruin a good beer.

I'll also probably change hops to Amarillo or Cascades this time.

Type: All Grain
Date: 10/18/2008
Batch Size: 5.00 gal
Brewer: Quicksilver Home Brewery
Boil Size: 7.00 gal Asst Brewer:
Boil Time: 60 min Equipment: Brew Pot (7.5 gal) and Cooler (50 qt)
Taste Rating(out of 50): 35.0 Brewhouse Efficiency: 70.00
Taste Notes:

Ingredients

Amount Item Type % or IBU
8 lbs Pale Malt (2 Row) US (2.0 SRM) Grain 68.09 %
1 lbs 8.0 oz Vienna Malt (3.5 SRM) Grain 12.77 %
1 lbs Caramel/Crystal Malt - 10L (10.0 SRM) Grain 8.51 %
1 lbs Victory Malt (25.0 SRM) Grain 8.51 %
4.0 oz Cara-Pils/Dextrine (2.0 SRM) Grain 2.13 %
1.00 oz Ahtanum [5.60 %] (75 min) (First Wort Hop) Hops 22.7 IBU
1.00 oz Cascade [5.90 %] Hops - Keg hop
0.50 oz Ahtanum [5.60 %] (45 min) Hops 9.1 IBU
0.50 oz Ahtanum [5.60 %] (5 min) Hops 2.0 IBU
1.00 tsp Irish Moss (Boil 10.0 min) Misc
2.00 tsp Gypsum (Calcium Sulfate) (Mash 60.0 min) Misc
1 Pkgs Safale (Fermentis #US-56) Yeast-Ale

Victory's not that overpowering a character malt; I think a pound will be fine. It's usually something you see in darker beers (nut browns are classic candidates for including Victory). Kind of a nutty flavor, it's not something I would immediately think of with an American-hopped pale ale but hell, it's only beer! I might think about changing up to more of an English-style pale ale to showcase the Victory, but that's just me.