Vacuumed hops: freeze?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mike_Diesel

Reaction score
Hello all,

I just vacuum sealed some homegrown dried out hops I had on hand.

My question is, if I'm going to use these for dry hopping in a secondary within the next 7-10 days, should I even bother freezing them since they're sealed?

I'm not really experienced with fresh hops! But I've also heard to throw them in the keg to dry hop that way?

Which way should I go?! Any and all advice is appreciated.

Cant hurt to freeze them and retain as much "goodness" as possible. Probably wont hurt to just throw them in the fridge either, considering it is only a week or so. Report back on your dry hop results.

Cant hurt to freeze them and retain as much "goodness" as possible. Probably wont hurt to just throw them in the fridge either, considering it is only a week or so. Report back on your dry hop results.

Alright, they're sealed and in the freezer!

Another quick question though...once I want to use them in the secondary for dry hopping, do I thaw them out? I assume using them frozen won't be ideal.

I've gone straight from freezer to keg without waiting for the hops to thaw. I can't imagine it makes any difference...

Cheers!

Fridge would be fine, freezer doesnt hurt. You can toss them right in from the freezer but I wold let them get room temp so you don't shock any potential active yeast doing their thing

It's all about the thermal mass. I rather doubt the yeast in 40 pounds of wort would bat their eyelashes at a few ounces of frozen hops - especially when nearly all of them are snoozing at the very bottom of the fermenter by the time the dry hops are added...

Cheers!

(eyelashes? ;) )

Alright, they're sealed and in the freezer!