10 days and still bubbling in the airlock

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

volvodude

Reaction score
I probably know the answer to my question, but a little moral support would be wecome. I brewed my first beer on saturday June 6 and here it is June 18 and the airlock is still bubbling. I used WLP 001 yeast without a starter (I'm a noob, I didn't know I probably should have). I think I probably also under aerated a bit. Anyway it took approx 36 hours to show life in the airlock, but it was fairly vigorous for about 18 hours and then less so. I has been bubbling steadily ever since, though it seems to slow a bit each day. I checked the gravity on 6-17 and it was 1.030 (OG 1.054), so I know it has a little ways to go. My question is: will the long lag time and prolonged fermentation contribute any off flavors to the final product. I tasted it when I checked the gravity and it was actually pretty good. A little bitter, but I may have been a bit aggressive with the hops. Any input apprciated.

I don't think the long fermentation will hurt anything. Just be really patient with it and don't bottle it until it hits the target FG. That bitterness will mellow once you have bottle conditioned for several weeks and cool them down.

Your beer will most likely be fine. Just give it another week or so to finish fermenting. Also, take a couple gravity samples the last 2 days just to make sure it's done.

If you are at 1.030 you definnitely aren't done, there is always a possibilty of off flavors with underpitching, and if you had poor aeration that could add to the overall slower fermentation. RDWHAB, your beer will be good still.

If you can give your recipe and more details about your process that would allow us to make a better assessment of your situation.