How the mashing process works

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gerrg

Reaction score
Hey everyone. Someone suggested that I try to make an oatmeal stout beer, Lil' Sparky's receipt. it requires mashing though and I've never done that before. Can anyone give me some pointers or give advice? Thanks!

peace
-gw

It requires some equipment upgrades and is a more detailed process than extract w/ steeping grains. Read this section of how to brew. It'll probably be easier(and cheaper) to convert the recipe to extract w/ grains or even a partial mash

You don't have to mash to make an oatmeal stout. You can just steep your oats in 150-160° water for 20 minutes, then use extract.

I would recommend you do a partial mash. It will introduce you to mashing in a small scale without the need for alot more equipment. You will get more flavour, fermentables and body if you mash the oats rather then steeping them. Check out the wiki for how to do it.

GT

gerrg said:
Hey everyone. Someone suggested that I try to make an oatmeal stout beer, Lil' Sparky's receipt. it requires mashing though and I've never done that before. Can anyone give me some pointers or give advice? Thanks!

peace
-gw
Just to give you a brief idea here, when you steep grains you extract some color and flavor from the grains you've got. It makes a nice grain tea that gives an extract based beer a fresher taste and color, but it adds little to no fermentables to your wort.

The process of mashing actually takes controlled temperatures for a longer amount of time than steeping. More importantly, mashing to get fermentable sugars out of the grains will take a specific type of enzyme to do the work. John Palmer's "How to Brew" says this in the glossary: