Pilsner D rest observations

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bamsdealer

Reaction score
After 2.5 weeks in primary, and airlock activity dying down to 7 sec I decided to take a reading. 1.021. To take my reading, I moved some of the solid yeast cake aside before dropping my hydrometer in. I had more vigorous fermentation immediately and think it was due to rousing more yeast than an increase in temp.

I'm in the process of raising the temp to 60 now. Should I really expect the beer to finish in 48-72 hours after dropping only 75% after 2.5 weeks? This is my first time using lager yeast so I don't exactly know what to expect. Should I lager as cold as possible or is anything in the 30s fine? How long should I lager for.. 4, 6, 8 weeks?

I'd let it sit in primary for a few more weeks, or longer, at the high end of the recommended temp range for the yeast strain you are using. Take another gravity reading in a few weeks. Once you are satisfied with the gravity, rack to 2ndary and let it lager a minimum of 4 weeks, the longer the better, at 37ish degrees F

Roger that.

I had a nice addition of saaz towards the end of the boil and at flameout. I would like them to come through in the beer. Would such a long primary and secondary... say 2.5 months with another 3 or 4 weeks to bottle condition kill some of the hops?

Any thoughts on an ounce of dry hops with a week left in the lagering? Never thought about dry hopping a pilsner till now...

If a lager is taking so long to get to FG, it seems like something isn't quite right. The first thing that comes to my mind is underpitching, as most beers should easily finish in 7-10 days.