Brew Stand - mitered joints or regular butt joints?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bduane

Reaction score
Woulds mitered joints for the top add to the strength of my brew stand (like in the first picture below)? I see a lot of people just use butt joints (either like in the 2nd or 3rd picture below), but it seems to me that would put all of the stress/weight of the kettles onto the weld... as a first time welder, i'm a little bit concerned about the strength of my welds... not sure if this would make a difference.

The 45 degree cuts would be pretty difficult to make accurately with my angle grinder though...

mitered joint.png

butt joint 1.png

butt joint 2.png

Only design #2 is fully dependent on your welds, the other two are not. So use #1 or #3, whichever is easier for you (sounds like #3).

I've been welding for about 12 years now and I always try to design so that the construction, loads and stress are dependent on the materials used instead of welds. The other thing I'm a big fan is gussets and doublers. If you have any doubt about your welds, weld in a gusset at the 90 degree intersection; it vastly increases your weld area and stiffness of the joint.

BTW, what software did you use to make those drawings, those are cool!

Good luck.

Excellent question....Miters are more aesthetic....but you introduce a lot of error if your cuts aren't accurate. Also, clamping everything together gets trickier.

It bears repeating that brewing is NOT a very heavy duty application, at least not with 15 gallon kettles. That's not to say you can get away with crappy welds, but you can get away with certain structural designs that might fail at a higher weight.