Help/Tips for Purchasing/choosing Keg setup (newbie)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zoomer67

Reaction score
I have bottled 2 batches and am shooting for kegging, at first I was going to go super cheap (keg, carbonate with sugar and dispense with CO2 cartridge), but it seemed I would still spend around $100 and have a terrible setup. I would appreciate tips and feedback the following seems to be a good decision to me, but this is by what I've read, I have no experience:

I've read so far it seems the following would be good:

The advantages I see in this setup are:
  • I can have up to 3 kegs.
  • With 2 Dual Valve regulators, I can have one or 2 kegs on tap (with 2 way distr.), plus another in carbonation, or if I get picky, at a different carbonation level.
  • This entire setup would be around $300, if I go just with the kit it would be $237 (including shipping and tax).

Anybody know:
  • Would it be cheaper if I bought a pack of 4 kegs on ebay and put the kit together myself?
  • Any other components you think would be handy?
  • Anything you think is not necessary?

THANKS!!

Here is the kit that I got thru keg connection....

http://stores.kegconnection.com/Detail.bok?no=47

... but I bought mine used off of Craigslist. Dual regs would be nice, but not neccasary. I have three kegs and just disconnect the two on tap when it is time to force carb. Then I dial it back down and re-connect the two I have on tap.

Are you putting these in a fridge or converting a chest freezer?

I'm just putting them in a fridge, I have a chestbox freezer with temp. controller, I also use it for fermentation (nice hot FL!!).