First time beer brewer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bfjwoodrow

Reaction score
Hey guys I started brewing my first beer and I did everything perfect up until the bottling stage. I filled the bottles up with my brew and then added the sugar into the bottle. And then slammed the lid on before it had a chance to fix up and over... Is this going to affect my brew? Is there an easier way of doing this? Next time I brew should I put the sugar in the bottom of the bottles first or should I make up a solution and add it to the mix before I bottle

Make a water/sugar mixture (1/3 cup corn sugar to 2 cups water) and put that in the bottom of the bottling bucket before you siphon from the fermenter to the bucket. That will mix it evenly through the batch and it should (according to everything I've read) be equal among all the bottles.

Then fill the bottles to within 1 inch from the top of the bottle and cap. I filled 12 at a time and then capped last night.

Did you boil the sugar first? If not, you run the risk of introducing infections.

How much sugar did you add to each bottle? Adding to each bottle is also error prone and you'll probably end up with uneven carbonation across your batch.

Next time I would suggest boiling the sugar in water, then add to your bottling bucket and rack onto it in. You can direct the flowing beer to move in a swirling motion to mix the sugar solution.

Yes boil the sugar. It helps to dissolve the sugar completely and sanitize. I usually just let it boil a couple of minutes. Then add to the bottling bucket and let it mix while raking your beer to it. I also give a gentle stir.