Beginner's dilemma (West Lafayette, IN)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ksukumar

Reaction score
Hello everyone!

First of all, its great to be on here and very excited about brewing. I have seen some videos and gone over some information on brewing. I needed some help on deciding where to get my equipment from. I live in West Lafayette, Indiana. I was hoping to buy the equipment form midwest supplies. As I am a student, I am not that high on cash. Also, I would love to meet home brewers from West Lafayette!

Thank you!

Welcome! That excitement is only going to keep growing, so get ready to feel obsessive. Midwest Supplies has pretty solid standard kits and if money is an issue buying the cheapest starter kit is a fine way to go. You'll get all the things you need to make beer and it will give you a chance to see if you really enjoy it and want to invest in other equipment down the line. The real issue though is having a good kettle right off the bat, so if you don't already have one it would be wise to look into something larger than you think you'll need (think in the 8 gal range). If you already have one, like 4 gal or so, you're still good to go!

ksukumar said:
Hello everyone!

First of all, its great to be on here and very excited about brewing. I have seen some videos and gone over some information on brewing. I needed some help on deciding where to get my equipment from. I live in West Lafayette, Indiana. I was hoping to buy the equipment form midwest supplies. As I am a student, I am not that high on cash. Also, I would love to meet home brewers from West Lafayette!

Thank you!