Favorite gluten free recipe?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Soybomb

Reaction score
I haven't seen any threads like this yet. Anyone care to share their tested and approved gluten free recipes yet? I haven't gotten any batches in the bottle yet and I'd like to hear from some people that have brewed real winners.

Also, whats the hardest style to brew gluten free versions of? I'm guessing porters and stouts are real challenges since we don't have easy access to roasted/toasted grains. Early samples of my IPA are promising though. I'm considering a mild next but am concerned if it will be able to be carried on a sorghum backbone or not.

Since I'm relatively new to this I can't really say I have a favorite but honestly, I've like every gluten-free beer I've made thus far, especially the pumpkin ales. The beer I bottled today, which I am telling my father is a Blue Moon clone, tasted phenomenal at bottling. I have one I am transferring tomorrow to secondary adapted from ChshreCat's Double Chocolate Oatmeal Stout that seems promising.

Sorry to ramble on, but I'm looking to try an IPA out next.

Thats great to hear though! I only made 2 extract batches before I was disappointed in the taste and went AG. That coupled with tasting a large number of poor gluten free substitutes (bread I'm looking at you) made me a little apprehensive about what I'd get as an end product with gluten free beer. So far though I'm still pretty optimistic. The last thing that was bothering me is that there are a lot of threads in this forum talking about beer and what might work but there's very few that say "this beer kicks ass, here's the recipe." It'd be nice to have some verified really good ones. Its really encouraging to hear that you like everything you've made so far.