Newbie here

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

andrewtouron

Reaction score
I've made wine for years. I'm not an expert, but can turn out a good wine in my opinion. I've been brewing Mr. Beer kits for about a year. Today I started my first "real" batch of beer tonight. I'm looking for any good pointers or some great links on this site that can help me brew some good beer. I'm nervous I'm going to mess something up. I can make wine very easy now, but am very inexperienced in beer. Thanks for the help

Have you read John Palmer's How to brew yet? If not, it should be the first thing you do.

Greatest book for beginners.

Then I'd suggest you to move up to Ray Daniel's Designing great beers, which is a more advanced reading.

Here's a handy link to have

You'll get a lot of great info from it although some of it is a little outdated. Keeping your batch in primary and not bothering with secondary is one of the aspects where thinking has changed over the last few years. But anyway, you can't beat John Palmer's knowledge being available for free on the net :rockin: The hard copy will afford you more uptodate info, should you require.:mug:

Here's a handy link to have

You'll get a lot of great info from it although some of it is a little outdated. Keeping your batch in primary and not bothering with secondary is one of the aspects where thinking has changed over the last few years. But anyway, you can't beat John Palmer's knowledge being available for free on the net :rockin: The hard copy will afford you more uptodate info, should you require.:mug:

I personally think you should completely avoid the website and go directly for the book. The amount of infos you get from the book that's not on the website is huge.

It's a good investment, believe me.