Wheat beer starter question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pookapoo

Reaction score
Okay, so I'm a bit torn here and figured I'd ask for help with my specific situation.
I got a wheat beer extract kit I'm gonna cook up tomorrow and I'm using a Wyeast 3068 activator pack.
My O.G. should be 49 for this 5 gallon batch according to the kit directions.(It's a Northern Brewer Bav. Hefe kit.)

Okay, so now for my query.
I have the above mentioned smack-pack and a pound of amber dme. Now normally I'd do a starter and pitch at high krausen like normal, but I have never done a wheat beer and was concerned that the amber dme (all I have right now) might cause the flavor of the beer to change.
What do you guys (and gals) think?

I'm far from an expert, with only 12 brewing sessions under my belt, but here's what I would do. Rather than risk some off flavors from the Amber DME, I'd smack the pack and see how fast it pops up. I've had some smack packs that are fully expanded within 2 hours, and I've had some that got a little more than half way expanded after 24 hours. So, if I had a pack that took off fast, I'd just pitch it. If I had a pack that was very slow, I'd use the Amber to make a starter. But then I'd chill the starter for 24 hours, and then decant as much of the liquid off the starter and pitch just the cake.

I'm sure there's a lot more advice coming from the more experienced members. Just thought I'd share my approach.