In need of recipe help for single hop IPA series

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Xpertskir

Reaction score
I am new to brewing and while I like a lot of beer styles I am a hop head(and so is my SMWBO, she bought me my starter kit) and in an effort to better understand hops I want to create a standard IPA recipe that I can repeatedly use for a single hop varietal in order to better understand what each hop brings to the table.

I extract brew, BTW.

I want to have the same malt backbone(modest gravity, 1.050-1.065 or so) and a standard hop schedule and amounts for this recipe and I think that a large hop bill will accentuate the differences better. This project will obviously not be appropriate for many hop varietals. I am also considering using some warrior or magnum as the bittering hops for recipe and keeping that consistent throughout the other varietals explored.

Anyone have a recipe that will fit this bill?

What timing. A few days ago, I decided to coordinate the same type experiment with the homebrew club I'm in. So far about 20 people are planning to participate, so it should be one hell of a hop learning session when we get all the beers together.

What I find funny is we wanted a simple grain bill, and after fiddling, ended up with something almost identical to the dead ringer kit linked above. I ended up at 14 lbs 2-row and 1 lb crystal 20, or, converted to extract, around 9 lbs LME and 1 lb crystal 20.

I extract brew, BTW

A very simple pale ale recipe is ... steep 8 oz crystal 40 or 60 add 6 Lb DME and hop to the IBU's you want.

I did this a lot when I first started and it gave me good results and a chance to taste the hops.