yes its another is my beer ruined question!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

falz1982

Reaction score
Hi,
I'm a real noob here and am real concerned about my first brew.
It is a cascade pale ale, I started it over a week ago now and it was all looking good the reading was getting lower I had bubbles in my airlock. Then it all stopped.
No bubbles, no changes to the reading (currently on 1028) for about 3 days.
Tried to sir it this did not do much.

Should I add more yeast? If stop how much? And does normal cooking yeast work our do I need to go out and get special yeast?

Please help Asap.

If it was me I would leave it alone for a week then take a gravity reading. Did u areate well? Also don't add bread yeast to ur brew ever. Chopps

Hi chopps,
Thanks for your reply!
I gave it a light sir, does this count as aeration?
I tint would be the re the yeast but just thought I would check.

A light stir is not desirable airation. Next brew day before u pitch ur yeast u want to stir the holy **** out of it. Do some research for other methods of airation. For ur current batch just forget about for a week ur getting ur self workers up for nothing just relax and check it in a.week

Hi,
i have checked the brew again today and still no change to the reading.
What should i do next?

Try gently swirling your fermenter for 60 seconds and raising the temperature to re-activate your yeast if it still tastes sweet.

Hi guys,
Thanks for all your support!
When i get home later i will taste it and report back.
I gave it a good stir a few days ago and cranked up the temp a bit which made no difference.
I am using a hydrometer to test it.
If it is sweet will i have to add more yeast?

Thanks again guys.