Campden Tablets

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Phan71

Reaction score
This is my first time trying Campden tablets to sterilize my "top off" water. How long does it take this little suckers to dissolve? I'm quickly chilling the wort, and it'll be ready to pour into the bucket soon. The little tablets are still sitting there at the bottom of the bucket, they don't seem to be dissolving at all I'm pretty sure I don't want to add the wort until they're completely dissolved. So, how long does it take?

Thanks.

Yeah, I ended up sticking my "brew spoon" down in the water to crush them. Oh, well, I guess everything's a learning experience, right?

I have a follow up question, though: The directions on the bottle weren't specific, and at the LHBS they said 1 tablet per gallon, so I used two (for the two gallons of "top off" water). While searching through the threads it seems most people use 1/2 a tablet.

Did I use way too much? What's the possible downside of using that much? Will it kill my yeast?

:eek: :confused:

The one per gallon applies to winemaking to kill off wild yeasts. For water treatment (chlorine removal) you only need 1/4 tablet in 5 gallons. I use 1/2 tablet in my brew water since I usually start with around 8 gallons (all grain).

you added the yeast and the campden tablets at the same time?

the reading I've done suggests you let the campden sit 24 hours prior to pitching...but I have no real experience in the matter.

malkore said:
you added the yeast and the campden tablets at the same time?

the reading I've done suggests you let the campden sit 24 hours prior to pitching...but I have no real experience in the matter.