Dry Yeast Contamination problems?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Have you seen increased risk of infection in Dry yeast vs. Liquid yeast?

• Yes, forget dry yeast!

• No, it is just as safe these days!

Results are only viewable after voting.

HiGravShawn

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
When I started started brewing it was with Safale dry yeasts and I had good results, but fairly quickly I moved to liquid yeasts for variety and better flocculation. I still have one or two original recipes I used safale for though. I am very careful with sanitation and have the same process in every brew day. I've been brewing 2-3 a month for about 13 months with no problem and yesterday I opened a fermenter to contamination (this)! Back when I started brewing and people were comparing dry vs. liquid they would say the drying process allowed bacteria to contaminate dry yeast and it had a greater chance of contamination. Others denied that claim or said it was from back in the day and processes had improved. Now I know I'm not above reproach and there could have been an undocumented slip in my procedure or just something missed, but I want to know if this is a fact. I put too much time/money/energy into brewing to have 10 gallons go south like this over simply using dry yeast. I now use many yeasts, harvest them, and even maintain a frozen yeast bank without issue so to have a $2 pack ruin that much beer is unacceptable. What has been your experience (notice I say experience, NOT opinion).