Decoction Mash Times?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Eastside Brewer

Reaction score
I am planning on brewing a Brown Ale tomorrow and I am going to try a single decoction for the first time. I think I have the whole process down pretty good.

First Beersmith has the protein rest at 122 degres 35 min. Is this neccessary, or can it be shorter like 15 min.?

Next, if I am going to decoct 3.5 gallons of mash and boil, how long do I boil? Beersmith says step time is 60 min. So boil for 60 min. or bring to a boil and then add it back to Mash Tun and hold temp at 149 for 60 min.? I am confused.

Finally mash out at 168 which is totally self-explanitory.

Any help on this would be gretaly appreciated.

Eastside

I'm far from an expert, having just done my first decoction, but I did a 20 min protein, pulled 1/3 for the decoction, heated it to 150 for a 20 minute conversion rest before heating again to a full boil for 30 more before returning to the mash tun. Then I did a full 60 minute conversion rest on the whole mash at 150.

I'm far from an expert, having just done my first decoction, but I did a 20 min protein, pulled 1/3 for the decoction, heated it to 150 for a 20 minute conversion rest before heating again to a full boil for 30 more before returning to the mash tun. Then I did a full 60 minute conversion rest on the whole mash at 150.

That's what I do when I do it.