Interested In Electric Brewing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LiquidFlame

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I plan on building a brew sculpture and have been doing a lot of research and I started looking at electric brewing because it really interested me. From all the stuff that I've read it seems like you need to have 240v for your system and I'm trying to find out if that is pretty much true. If so I think it would be to much of a pain/cost to get 240v into my garage, and I'm no electrician. Are there any feasible 120v systems because if there aren't I'll probably stick with gas. Thanks.

Im no expert but if you have two seperate 120 circuits you should be able to build a 5 gallon setup. Anything larger you wil need 240

Given the same current, 240V gives you 4 times the power of 120V. You're limited to about 1800W on a standard 120V / 15A circuit. For anything larger than about 3 gallons, you want 240V.

Kal

240 isn't that expensive to run to a garage. Many garages may have it already if there has ever been a welder or large air compressor that was installed in the garage. If you own your home, it would be a selling point for the next guy.

If you only want to do a 30 amp 240v setup its really not that much for the wire. How far is it from your breakers to the garage?

For anything larger than about 3 gallons, you want 240V.
Kal

Im no expert but if you have two seperate 120v circuits you should be able to build a 5 gallon setup. Anything larger you wil need 240