Starter issue

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

integratorjon

Reaction score
I'm a newbie and just made my first starter. I transported it to my dads where we brew and it has now stopped bubbling. Is this just because of movement? Will it restart? Any harm done if it does?

We're you able to keep the temperature stable while you transported it?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Home Brew mobile app

Did you airlock it?
Did you keep the temp stable?
How long has it been fermenting?
How big is it?
What kind of yeast is it?
Stir plate?

I mean, really, the possibilities are endless. Give us more details.

Yes, it's air locked. I started it a last night and it was bubbling at a rate of one per 5 seconds

Ride was less than 10 minutes so temp shouldn't have changed much. It's a lagar yeast.

Great, grand, wonderful, what about the other questions?

edit: just saw your reply. I'm sure you're fine. Movement probably "shook off" the carbonation that was in suspension. Give it time to sit properly, and I bet it will start bubbling. Are you keeping it at lager temps?

No, keeping it at about 70 since it's just starter. Does starter need to be cooler than that? I've got the spare fridge sitting at 52 waiting for when I brew tomorrow

For my Czech pilsner I just did a 24 hour shake starter at room temperature, I pitched the whole thing, and it worked great.
If you really want to do it the RIGHT way, I know that you should cold crash your starter days in advance, then pour off the water and use the yeast cake in the bottom.
But remember, this is brewing. You can do it any way you want and your freeloading friends will still say "Wow! You brewed this?!"