Python/XML Beginner

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lmerg

Reaction score
Hi,

I am playing around with Python and naturally I am using brewing to inspire projects. I am not a programmer. I'm hoping the forum can help in two ways.

First, the BeerXML standard look woebegone. How useful is this standard? I thought all the major recipe apps supported it. Specifically, I'm wondering if there is a standard for recording temperature data over time, sort of like a "FermXML". It might include outside temp, inside temp, a gravity reading. My semi-ambitious goal is to graph the temperature changes for inside and outside against the SG of several beer batches. I am hoping this is a useful way to visualize how the ambient temperature effects fermentation, which is a concern when I use swamp coolers. IF there's a standard way to represent this data, I'd prefer to start off that way.

Second, I need data of the type described above. I can fake some of it. But ideally, I'd like some actual SG readings over time with fermenation temp (and hydrometer deflection if applicable) in .CSV format. I am hoping that I can get the ambient, outdoor temp from the Internet.

To reinforce, I have no idea what I'm doing. I'm doing it wrong. I'm only trying to learn. In fact, I'm trained as a political scientist, which makes me an outlier among brewers much less brewing programmers. So any advice is helpful.

Thanks,
Luke

If you're really interested in measuring temperatures over fermentation then that would be simple to do with an Arduino board and a couple of temperature probes. You'd just need to write a small program to take temperature samples at a given interval and record them to a file.