Going over max attenuation

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CreekBrewery

Reaction score
Since I'm a noob I had to ask about something I'm seeing in my latest beer.
I made a tripel using asome Wyest 3944 I had in the freezer and its attenuation range according to the website is 72-76".

OG = 1.060 (I know this is low, I messed up my first partial mash :mad:)
Then added 1.5 Lb of sugar in three seperate additions so if I'm calculating this correctly... 46*1.5/5.25 = 13 points
So I'm using 1.073 as my OG.

I just took a gravity measurement, she's still bubbling slowly, and it came out at 1.015 with temp corrections. This is where it gets weird because this would give me an apparent attenuation of 78.3% (according to BeerSmith).

Is the website spec just an average range or is something else going on? I did use Mr Malty to calculate my starter size so I know it had a healthy start. Thanks for the help!

Apparent attenuation is given for yeast in a wort that has a normal sugar profile (meaning standard mix of fermentable/unfermentable sugar). Your wort did not have that since you added a lot of table sugar which is completely fermentable. Whenever you add sugar, yeast are always going to gobble that up.

OK, so are there really any guidelines when you're using a non-standard sugar profile? Does it just come down to how much alcohol the yeast can tolerate at that point?
Thanks, I figured I was just being a nervous Nelly since I'm still learning.