Its...well. Its bad

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nwilms34

Reaction score
Hey guys, im a rookie to cider, and i just made a gallon test batch with

1) 1 gallon organic apple cider
2) 1/4 cup brown sugar
3) 3 ounces apple juice concentrate
4) champagne yeast

Now i know it is technically wine, but the flavor is bad. I hhave no idea about aging it or anything of that nature, and i have started the backsweetening process. Any tips?

Gah, this is how my first cider went, but with 5 gallons and store bought juice.

I'd say use AJ concentrate and maybe some sugar. Should sweeten it up and give back some apple flavor. Doesn't come out as good as if you were to not ferment out all the way and save some of the original apple flavor, but the buzzed/half drunk girls at the party I brought it to guzzled it all down, so I guess it was good nuff.

How tond did it ferment? How long has it aged? What was your ferment temp? It's hard to tell what went wrong with just ingredients that should have made at least a decent tasting cider.

Using Champagne yeast, let it sit for six months then report back. It will dramtically change for the better.

Before you let it sit for 6 month, what does it taste like? There could be a number of different thing wrong with it and describing the taste could help us figure out what went wrong.

Is it:

Vinegary?
Have an intense alcohol taste?
Very yeasty/bready taste?
Does it taste like rotten fruit?
Does it smell horrible too?

We need some more information.