Aquarium chiller cool beer?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FiveKaiBrewing

Reaction score
I was in the attic the other day and i noticed my old aquarium chiller sitting in the corner. Can I use this to chill hot wort? it seems it would work as i used to use it to chill my aquarium. as long as it its cleaned and sanitized ??

by the way im heappy to have found this site. I am new to brewing and am going top purchase the Speidels Braumeister (brewmaster). I dont have much time and want to do all grain. i had already bought some misc rubbermaid coolers to make MLT but these are going back to home depot after seeing this cool machine.

Don't know how long it would stand up to 210 degree heat.... I guess it depends on the construction of it. If its not something you need, give it a try and report back.

yea i dont really need it. I mean at the time about 5 years ago it was an expensive piece of equipment and i could probrably sell it for about 400 dollars but what the heck ill try to cool down some boiling water with it and see what happens. i have to clean it any way. ill give some info on the results

I did a quick google search for aquarium chillers, and found a pretty wide variety of results.

So, what is it that you have? Is this a unit that is supposed to draw water out of your aquarium, cool it down with refrigeration/peltier/radiator, and dump it back into the aquarium? How cold is it supposed to keep the aquarium?

Pics would rock. Also, how were you intending to use it?