What are the basic steps and pitfalls in simple mashing?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mew

Reaction score
I am fairly new to brewing, but making all grain batches intrigues me. I realize that I will have to start with partial grain, but I don't know much beyond crush the grains, steep in hot water for some period of time, and then sparge with hot water. Can someone set me straight on the basic steps please? Also, what is the purpose of these steps (in other words, what does it do to the grain)?

Thanks

mew said:
I am fairly new to brewing, but making all grain batches intrigues me. I realize that I will have to start with partial grain, but I don't know much beyond crush the grains, steep in hot water for some period of time, and then sparge with hot water. Can someone set me straight on the basic steps please? Also, what is the purpose of these steps (in other words, what does it do to the grain)?

Thanks

converts starch to sugar and if you are going grain go all grain. It is pretty easy.

mew said:

Thanks

I'm new as well, and even though I should probabily be mashing as well because those are my favorite flavors.......its far too complicated to just jump into......

I've looked at this realistically and I can't honestly say that I would even attempt this without a couple years experience under my belt.......

Here are some things to just get your feet wet....

http://www.18000feet.com/minimash/page1.htm
https://www.homebrewtalk.com/showthread.php?t=8805

Basically, I cant explain the steps, step by step and why you do them but from the reading I have done your extracting the flavor and natural sugars from the grains so that you have a base before you add your extract and stuff.....