Single Hop Apollo IIPA

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BuckettOfBeer

Reaction score
I just bought 9 ounces of Apollo Hops (they listed them at 18 - 21% AA) from Northern Brewer. I thought I'd might as well try to get a little bold and go for a decent strength single hopped double IPA. Here's the recipe:

5 gallon
OG: ~1.077
IBU: some high number

6 lb Northern Brewer Pilsen LME
3 lb Briess Pilsen DME
1 lb Crystal 20L
1 lb Honey

Apollo additions

1 oz "FWH"
.5 oz at 60 min
1 oz at 20 min
1 oz at 10 min
2.5 oz flameout
3 oz dry hop

1 L starter of Wyeast 1056

Now here's the kicker. I've never used Apollo hops before. Why would I plunge into the unknown? Well, they're high alpha, cheap, and have a bad ass name! (and also #yolo :rockin: )

But seriously, I'm looking to see if any one has experience with this hop. It's obviously a potent bittering agent, but how's the flavor and aroma? Will this beer kick ass or fall flat? Sorry about the yolo earlier too :D

Apollo smells nice. It's pretty dank, and there's some citrus in there too. That should be a good beer (I'm assuming the honey is actual honey, not honey malt)

And please refrain from saying yolo unless you're a 19yr old girl. Haha

I agree with scottland.

I would brew this beer via a full volume boil with no top off water...

Personally, I think it would be better with 2-row DME, a traditional 60 min. bitter addition of 40 IBUs in place of FWH, more honey in place of some extract, and another hop or two for added complexity. Minor things really. Just be sure you're not adding the honey to hot wort or those delicate aromas will be destroyed.