Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Soda Making > Why won't my birch beer carbonate?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-05-2009, 08:09 PM   #1
Coastarine
We get it, you hate BMC.
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 21 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Why won't my birch beer carbonate?

Here's the deal, this is confusing the hell out of me:

I mixed up a 4gal batch of birch beer because I had a free tap and no beer ready to serve from it. It is my first attempt at soda ever. I made it from a bottle of soda flavoring, 4cups splenda, and 4cups sugar. I hooked it up to the same pressure as my fizzier ales (~18psi at ~38*F) and it has been over two weeks now. I have absolutely zero carbonation. I know that there is pressure in the keg because I can open the vent, serve it, etc, but the stuff just will not carbonate AT ALL. Anyone have any idea what is going on here?

On Tap.........[The Munchner][Spiced Cider][English Cider][Simcoe IPA][Triple Hops Grooved][Cider'n 'gnac]

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-05-2009, 08:15 PM   #2
BarleyWater

Recipes 

Liked 20 Times on 16 Posts

Soda can seem flat even though it has 3/4 of it's carbonation in solution. You should be looking for at least 3.7-3.8 volumes of CO2, so at 38F, that would be about 24 psi.

Fermenting: Nada
On Tap:Cran Wit, Dr Pepper Dubbel, Cascadian Pale Ale, Dark Chocolate Stout, Imperial Stout, Brown Mild, Schwarzbier
On Board: IIPA

www.franconiabrewing.com

Last edited by BarleyWater; 09-07-2009 at 06:21 AM.

Old 09-05-2009, 08:18 PM   #3
Coastarine
We get it, you hate BMC.

Recipes 

I'll give that a shot when I get more gas ball lock connectors in next week. I'll be able to put all of my beers on one pressure and jack up the pressure on the soda. I'm tellin ya though, I get absolutely NO tingle on the tongue from this stuff right now.