Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Soda Making > What is your favorite yeast for soda ?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-03-2011, 02:00 PM   #11
highdesertdreams
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yooper View Post
I like Red Star Champagne yeast the best- it's neutral and doesn't leave a yeasty flavor behind.
=== Hmmm ... isn't that strange ?
We came to the opposite conclusion.
Are you comparing it to SAFALE US-05 Dry Ale Yeast, or what ?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2011, 02:08 PM   #12
highdesertdreams
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgc View Post
How do you leave residual sugar if you are using yeasts which ferment to 10% (sometimes upwards of 20%) ABV? Is that why it should be consumed so early compared to other brews? Sorry I have never made soda. I am typically a mead maker.
I'm a newbie to brewing soda (or anything else).
I'd appreciate it if you could explain in a little more detail what you are talking about. I don't doubt what you say, I simply don't understand it.

Thanks,
Frank in AZ

Old 03-03-2011, 04:33 PM   #13
mgc
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by highdesertdreams View Post
I'm a newbie to brewing soda (or anything else).
I'd appreciate it if you could explain in a little more detail what you are talking about. I don't doubt what you say, I simply don't understand it.

Thanks,
Frank in AZ
Hey Frank,