HBT 2014 Big Giveaway - 4/10 Re-Draw Winners Posted!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Soda Making > Hi all; looking for advice on Root Beer

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2013, 01:17 AM   #1
FatBaldBeerGuy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 5

Default Hi all; looking for advice on Root Beer

I've been homebrewing ale for about 2 years now and have moved on to kegging; but I promised my daughter I would do a root beer for her and her brother. I want to do 5 gallons of root beer in akeg and force carbonate.

I've looked at several threads on here already with lots of recipes; but what I am wondering is what extract and additions will allow me to create the "best" authentic root beer that isn't overly involved? I don't want the result to suck, but I would rather not be trying to work 30 different ingredients to get the "right" taste either

I don't mind spending a few dollars for proper ingredients if they are needed to get the right taste; but I can't really afford to go too crazy with it.

Thanks for any help or suggestions!

On Deck: Noble Trappist
Primary: Cream Ale
Secondary: None
Kegged:
Drinking: All gone!!!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-19-2013, 01:28 AM   #2
FatBaldBeerGuy
Recipes 

As an example; I was looking at this in the recipe section and it seems pretty straight-forward:
http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f171/aa-root-beer-kegged-210057/

I think we can handle something like that; but are there better recipes out there?

Thanks!

Kegged:

Old 11-19-2013, 10:37 PM   #3
Yooper
Frau Admin

Recipes 

Liked 3847 Times on 2811 Posts
Likes Given: 638

I'm not much of a fan of the "recipes" with real roots. I just like the extract ones the best.

I've used McCormick's extract, the cheap extract from the grocery store and I liked it just fine. My favorite was much more expensive- the Sprecher's root beer syrup from Northern Brewer.

Old 11-19-2013, 10:54 PM   #4
daft
Recipes