Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Soda Making > Gnome Spicy Ginger Beer extract from Northern Brewer

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-27-2012, 01:23 AM   #1
microbusbrewery
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 86 Times on 66 Posts
Likes Given: 42

Default Gnome Spicy Ginger Beer extract from Northern Brewer

Does anyone have experience with this extract? The website says it makes between 5 and 10 gallons depending on how spicy you want it. I've never used this one before but I was hoping for something fairly spicy like Reed's Extra Ginger or Buffalo Rock Ginger Ale. I'm assuming I'd probably want to make 5 gallons but was hoping someone might have some feedback.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2012, 12:00 AM   #2
microbusbrewery
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

I'm guessing from the lack of replies that nobody has any experience with the extract.

I finally got around to mixing this up today. I went with a 5 gallon batch sweetened with 4# of turbinado an 1# of plain old granulated sugar. I opened the extract and it smelled of ginger (not surprise) but also had a very strong earthy aroma.

Before adding the extract to the water/sugar mixture, the mixture was a nice clear amber. After adding the extract it turned a murky muddy brown color. Not the most appetizing appearance, but I tasted some and it tasted great.

If you like your ginger beer spicy, definitely don't dilute it more than 5 gallons.

Old 03-27-2012, 07:25 PM   #3
jefflane510
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by microbusbrewery
I'm guessing from the lack of replies that nobody has any experience with the extract.

I finally got around to mixing this up today. I went with a 5 gallon batch sweetened with 4# of turbinado an 1# of plain old granulated sugar. I opened the extract and it smelled of ginger (not surprise) but also had a very strong earthy aroma.